The Institutions

Mali is an independent, sovereign, indivisible, democratic, secular republic. Mali has eight (8) institutions that are:

-The President of the Republic

-The Cabinet

-The National Assembly

-The Supreme Court

-The Constitutional Court

-The High Court of Justice

-The High Council of Territorial Collectives

-The Economic, Social and Cultural Council The President of the Republic

The President of the Republic

The president is the chief of state and commander in chief of the armed forces. The president is elected to 5-year terms, with a limit of two terms. The president appoints the Prime Minister as head of government. The president chairs the Council of Ministers, which adopts proposals for laws submitted to the National Assembly for approval.

The President’s Office:

The Cabinet

The Cabinet determines and directs the political institutions of the Nation, the armed forces, and their administration. The Prime Minister is the Head of the Cabinet. He directs and coordinates governmental action. He assures the execution of the laws. He is responsible for the execution of the political institutions and the national defense. The Cabinet is responsible before the National Assembly.

The Prime Minister’ Office:

The National Assembly (The Parliament)

The National Assembly is the sole legislative arm of the government. It currently consists of 147 members. Members of the National Assembly are called Deputies. Representation is apportioned according to the population of administrative districts. Election is direct and by party list. The term of office is 5 years.

The Assembly meets for two regular sessions each year. It debates and votes on legislation proposed either by one of its members or by the government and has the right to question government ministers about government actions and policies. Eight political parties, aggregated into four parliamentary groups, are represented in the Assembly.

The National Assembly (The Parliament):

The Supreme Court

The Supreme Court has both judicial and administrative powers. Under the constitution, there is a separate constitutional court and a high court of justice with the power to try senior government officials in cases of treason.
The Supreme Court is presided over by a magistrate of the judiciary appointed by the President of the Republic on proposal of the Higher Judicial Council.
The President of the Supreme Court is assisted by a Vice-Chairman appointed under the same conditions
The Supreme Court is composed of:

  • A Judicial section
  • An Administrative section;
  • An Accounting section.

The Constitutional Court

The Constitutional Court guarantees the fundamental laws of the individual and public liberties. The Constitutional Court is composed of nine members who hold the title of Counselors with a period of office of seven years, once renewable. The nine (9) members of the Constitutional Court must give an oath in a ceremony presided over by the President of the Republic before the National Assembly and the Supreme Court. They must say:

"I swear to conscientiously fulfill the duties of my office, with strict respect to the obligations of neutrality and reservation, and to conduct myself with dignity and loyalty to my public office."

The Constitutional Court must decide on:
- The constitutionality of organizational laws and other laws before their promulgation

- The interior regulations of the National Assembly, the High Council of Collectives and of the Economic, Social and Cultural Council before they are put in application.

- The arbitration of conflicts between institutions of the State;

- The regularity of presidential and legislative elections and the operations for referendums of which it shall declare the results.

The High Court of Justice

The High Court of Justice is competent to judge the President of the Republic and Ministers upon accusation by the National Assembly of high treason or of crimes or offenses committed while exercising their functions.

The High Council of Territorial Collectives

The mission of the High Council of Collectives is to study and give an opinion about every issue of local and regional development. It may make proposals to the Cabinet on any issue concerning the protection of the environment and the quality of life in the collectives.

The High Council of Collectives is seated at Bamako. It may be transferred to any other location if necessary. The members of the High Council of Collectives carry the title National Counselors. National Counselors are elected for five years by indirect suffrage.

The High Council of Collectives represents the Malians abroad.

The President of the High Council of Collectives is elected for five years.

The Economic, Social and Cultural Council

The Economic, Social and Cultural Council is competent regarding all aspects of economic, social and cultural development. Members of the Economic, Social and Cultural Council are:

-The representatives of syndicates, associations and socio-professional groups, elected by the association or group of origin;

-The representatives of the collectives designated by their peers;

-The representatives of Malians abroad.
The Economic, Social and Cultural Council writes a report to the attention of the President of the Republic, the Cabinet and the National Assembly about the expectations, the needs and problems of the civil society.

Current Government Ministers
1-Premier Ministre :
Modibo Kéïta
2- Ministre du développement rural :

Bocary Treta
2- Ministre de la solidarité de l’action humanitaire et de la reconstruction du nord :
Hamadou Konaté
3- Ministre des domaines de l’état et des affaires foncières :
Me Mohamed Aly Bathily
4- Ministre de la réconciliation nationale :
Zahabi Ould Sidi Mohamed
5- Ministre de la défense et des anciens combattants :
Tiéman Hubert Coulibaly
6- Ministre des affaires étrangères de l’intégration africaine et de la coopération internationale :
Abdoulaye Diop
7- Ministre de l’administration territoriale et de la décentralisation :
Abdoulaye Idrissa Maïga
8- Ministre de l’économie et des finances :
Mamadou Igor Diarra
9- Ministre de la santé et de l’hygiène publique :
Ousmane Koné
10- Ministre de l’économie numérique de l’information et de la communication, porte-parole du gouvernement :
Choguel Kokala Maïga
11- Ministre de la sécurité et de la protection civile :
Général Sada Samaké
12- Ministre de la justice et des droits de l’homme garde des sceaux :
Mamadou Diarra
13- Ministre de l’emploi de la jeunesse et de la construction citoyenne :
Mahamane Baby
14- Ministre de l’enseignement supérieur et de la recherche scientifique :
Me Mountaga Tall
15- Ministre de l’éducation nationale :
Kénékouo dit Barthélémy Togo
16- Ministre des maliens l’extérieur :
Abdourhamane Sylla
17- Ministre de l’équipement du transport et du désenclavement :
Mamadou Hachim Koumaré
18- Ministre de l’urbanisme et de l’habitat :
Dramane Dembélé
19- Ministre du travail de la fonction publique de la réforme de l’état chargé des relations avec les institutions :
Mme Diarra Raky Tala
20- Ministre du commerce et de l’industrie :
Abdoul Karim Konaté
21- Ministre de l’aménagement du territoire et de la population :
Cheickna Seydi Hamady Diawara
22- Ministre de l’énergie et de l’eau :
Mamadou Frankaly Keïta
23- Ministre des mines :
Boubou Cissé
24- Ministre de la promotion de l’investissement et du secteur privé :
Me Mamadou Gaoussou Diarra
25- Ministre de la culture de l’artisanat et du tourisme :
Mme N’Diaye Ramatoulaye Diallo
26- Ministre de l’environnement de l’assainissement et du développement durable :
Mohamed Ag Erlaf
27- Ministre de la promotion de la femme de l’enfant et de la famille :
Mme Sangaré Oumou Bah
28- Ministre des affaires religieuses et du culte :
Thierno Amadou Oumar Hass Diallo
29- Ministre des sports :
Housseiny Amion Guindo